Each year the Department of Sociology honors our outstanding students with departmental awards and invitations to join Alpha Kappa Delta, the international sociology honor society.

Departmental Awards

Department Scholar

This award is given to a graduating senior with the highest academic performance.

Year Recipient(s)

Evan Warney


2018 Lauren Del Vecchio
Zara Schinsing
2017 Michelle Powderly
2016 Sara Connor
2015 Samantha Chudyk
2013 Daniel Oonk
2012 Peter Lista
2011 Scott James
2010 Slade Lellock
2009 Thomas Happell
2008 Lindsay Wolf
2007 Danielle Montagne
2006 Erin Doring
2005 Amanda Crane
2004 Robyn Alama
2003 Lori Szalay
2001 Sarah Herring
2000 John Packer
1999 Tara Flynn
1997 Cathy Owen
1996 Robin Rand
1994 Jeffrey Gerken

Department of Sociology Scholarship

Through the Brockport Foundation, the department is able to award up to two scholarships to Sociology majors with a GPA of 3.0 or higher entering their last or second-to-last semester. Applications are typically due in mid-February.

Year Recipient(s)
2019 Michelle Riggio
Megan Wright
2018 Samantha Lippa
Evan Warney

Melissa Szurgyi

Alisyn Klock


Michelle Powderly

James Luckman

2015 Veronica Lenhart
James Luckman
2013 Tyler Sollenne
Darren Kwiatkowski
2012 Ashley McKay
Kaitlyn Spike
2011 Peter Lista
Kendra White
2010 Scott James
2008 Stephanie Bizzari
2007 Rebekah Orr
2006 Danielle Montagne

Alpha Kappa Delta

The Department of Sociology at SUNY Brockport is proud to have a chapter of Alpha Kappa Delta (AKD), the international sociological honor society founded in 1920. This is a prestigious honor society recognizing sociology majors who achieve academic excellence. Members must be at least junior status, have earned a grade point average of 3.0 or above in the major, rank in the top 35% of their class, and have completed at least four sociology courses at Brockport.

Members are inducted into AKD at the annual spring induction ceremony and reception. This is a time of much celebration, including faculty, students, parents, and members of the administration.

Non-Departmental Awards Earned by Sociology Majors


  • Zara Schinsing – Outstanding Adult Student
  • Melissa Szurgyi – Chancellors Award for Student Excellence


  • James Luckman – The Marion Schrank Student Leadership award