The Writers Forum logo

Unless otherwise noted, all Writers Forum readings begin at 8 pm and are held on SUNY Brockport campus, in the New York Room, Cooper Hall.

Main Page Content

Writers Forum events are free and open to the public.


Major Jackson

Wednesday, February 10

Major Jackson is the author of four poetry collections: Roll Deep, Holding Company, Hoops, and Leaving Saturn, which won the Cave Canem Poetry Prize and was a National Book Critics Circle Award finalist. He has received a Pushcart Prize, a Whiting Writers’ Award, and a Pew Fellowship in the Arts.

Lia Purpura

Wednesday, February 24
Poet and Essayist

Lia Purpura’s new book of poems, It Shouldn’t Have Been Beautiful, was published in October 2015. She has written three previous poetry collections, three collections of essays, and a book of Grzegorz Musiał translations. A finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award, she has been awarded Guggenheim and Fulbright fellowships.

Karen Solie

Wednesday, March 23

Karen Solie was born in Saskatchewan. Her first collection, Short Haul Engine, was awarded the Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize. She won three prizes for another collection, Pigeon, including the prestigious Griffin Poetry Prize. Her fourth book, The Road In Is Not the Same Road Out, was published in 2015.

Barry Lopez

Wednesday, April 13
Essayist and Fiction Writer
7:30 pm
Temple B’rith Kodesh, 2131 Elmwood Ave., Rochester

2016 Art of Fact Award

Barry Lopez is the author of Arctic Dreams, for which he received the National Book Award; Of Wolves and Men, a National Book Award finalist and recipient of the John Burroughs and Christopher medals; and eight works of fiction, including Light Action in the Caribbean, Field Notes, and Resistance. His work has appeared in dozens of anthologies, including Best American Essays, Best Spiritual Writing, and the “best” collections from National Geographic, The Georgia Review, and The Paris Review.

The Art of Fact Award is generously funded by M&T Bank.

John McManus

Wednesday, April 27
Fiction Writer

John McManus is the author of three short story collections and the novel Bitter Milk. His work has appeared in Ploughshares, Tin House, McSweeney’s, American Short Fiction, Electric Literature, Oxford American, and elsewhere. He is the recipient of the Whiting Writers’ Award, the Fellowship of Southern Writers’ New Writing Award, and a Creative Capital literature grant.

For further information

Writers Forum
350 New Campus Drive
Brockport, NY 14420

Phone: (585) 395-5713

Email: James Whorton/Anne Panning