The Writers Forum

All Writers Forum Events (unless otherwise noted) are held on the SUNY Brockport campus, in the New York Room, Cooper Hall, at 8:00 pm.

Main Page Content

All events (unless otherwise noted) are free and open to the public.

Names & Dates


Paul Muldoon

Wednesday, February 7

A Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, Paul Muldoon was born in County Armagh, Northern Ireland, and has lived in the U.S. since 1987. Muldoon’s many collections of poetry include New Weather (1973), Meeting The British (1987), The Annals of Chile (1994), Hay (1998), and Moy Sand and Gravel (2002), for which he won the 2003 Pulitzer Prize. Horse Latitudes appeared last fall. He is the recipient of the T.S. Eliot Prize, the Irish Times Poetry Prize, the Griffin International Prize for Excellence in Poetry, and the 2006 European Prize for Poetry, among many others.

Richard Garcia

Wednesday, February 21
Event will be held in the Ballroom, at Seymore College Union.

Author of four books of poetry, including The Flying Garcias (1991); Rancho Notorious (2001); and The Persistence of Objects (2006). Garcia is the recipient of a fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts, a Pushcart Prize, the Cohen Award from Ploughshares, and the Georgetown Review Poetry Prize.

Antonya Nelson

Wednesday, March 7

Fiction writer Antonya Nelson has published numerous short story collections and novels, including Some Fun (2006), Female Trouble (2002), Family Terrorists (1994), and Living to Tell (2000). She has won the Flannery O’Connor Award for Short Fiction and the Heartland Award in fiction. She has been awarded fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Guggenheim Foundation. She currently teaches creative writing at the University of Houston.

Robin Hemley

Wednesday, March 21

Director of the Nonfiction Writing Program at the University of Iowa, Robin Hemley has published seven books of nonfiction and fiction, including Invented Eden: The Elusive, Disputed History of the Tasaday (2003) and Nola: A Memoir Of Faith, Art And Madness (1998). His fiction, including The Last Studebaker and All You Can Eat, has won The Nelson Algren Award, The George Garrett Award, the Hugh J. Luke Award and two Pushcart Prizes.

Terry Tempest Williams

Tuesday, April 24, at 7:30 pm
The 2007 Art of Fact Award Presentation and Reading *
Event will be held at the Memorial Art Gallery. Seating is limited. Doors will be opened for public at 7:00 pm.

Terry Tempest Williams’ commitment to and passion for the wildlands of the American west are chronicled in such books as Refuge: An Unnatural History of Family and Place (1991), An Unspoken Hunger (1994), and Red: Patience and Passion in the Desert (2002). In 2004, the Orion Society published her book The Open Space of Democracy. She is the recipient of a Lannan Fellowship in creative nonfiction, a Guggenheim Fellowship, and a Lila Wallace-Reader’s Digest Community Grant. Terry Tempest Williams is the Annie Clark Tanner Scholar in the Environmental Humanities Program at the University of Utah.

*The Art of Fact Award is generously funded by M&T Bank.

For further information

Writers Forum
350 New Campus Drive
Brockport, NY 14420

Phone: (585) 395-5713

Email: Ralph Black/Anne Panning