The EOP Program at SUNY Brockport is committed to assisting students who wish to continue their education beyond the undergraduate level.

Society History

Founded at West Chester University of Pennsylvania, Chi Alpha Epsilon was organized in 1989. Responding to an increased need to acknowledge the continuing successes of students in the Academic Development Program and recognizing that students who share similar experiences could serve as significant models for others, a Greek letter honor society was proposed by Dr. Elbert Saddler. A university psychologist and counseling coordinator for the ACT 101 Program, Dr. Saddler identified eligible students and alumni to form the nucleus who are now the Founding members of XAE.

Directors of Student Support Services, McNair Scholars,Educational Opportunity Programs, and developmental programs at many colleges and universities have hailed its formation. The National Association for Developmental Education (NADE) has officially endorsed Chi Alpha Epsilon as an honor society for developmental education students. The Council for Opportunity in Education is also encouraging participation.

Chi Alpha Epsilon was formed to recognize the academic achievements of students admitted to colleges and the universities through non-traditional criteria and serves developmental, SSS, McNair Scholars, and Educational Opportunity Program students. Its purposes are to promote continued high academic standards, to foster increased communication among its members, and to honor academic excellence achieved by those students. The involvement of eligible alumni enables networking for members. Programs sponsored by the society encourage other students toward this accomplishment.

The honor society also has the potential to be a significant political force in the support of funding for developmental studies and educational opportunity programs nationwide.

Chapter History

On Friday, November 7, 2008, the Epsilon Rho Chapter of Chi Alpha Epsilon was chartered. That was the beginning of a long relationship between, SUNY Brockport, our students, faculty, administration, alumni, and our society. Charter Members are a recorded part of the history of our Society and our institution. We edify them by reciting their names at each induction.


Charter Members of Epsilon Rho Chapter are:

  • Honorable Eleanor M. Arguinzoni
  • Honorable Daniel B. Askey
  • Honorable Vanessa B. Babb
  • Honorable Robert J. Bradtke
  • Honorable Amber L. Busch
  • Honorable Bomie Cooper
  • Honorable Yanisvel Cordero
  • Honorable Danny L. Cordova
  • Honorable Latasha S. Craig
  • Honorable Arlene A. Cudjoe
  • Honorable Felicia L. Davis
  • Honorable Tierra D. Dillenburg
  • Honorable Christopher A. Fernandez
  • Honorable Jenell J. Frank
  • Honorable Rosemary Guadalupe
  • Honorable Yurim Haw
  • Honorable Katherine L. Hughes
  • Honorable Quintin D. Johnson
  • Honorable Edith A. Koduah
  • Honorable Shaina R. Krimsky
  • Honorable Hannah R. Lipshutz
  • Honorable Alexandra C. Marcellus
  • Honorable Shareen C. Marquez
  • Honorable Jose M. Mejia
  • Honorable Leshawn A. McFarlan
  • Honorable Zurisaday Moreno
  • Honorable Justin D. Oliver
  • Honorable Anthony L. Orphe
  • Honorable Gary O. Owens
  • Honorable Isabel Pecci
  • Honorable Stephanie N. Powell
  • Honorable Kerby S. Simmons
  • Honorable Jessica Thompkins
  • Honorable Antoine M. Thompson
  • Honorable David J. Tobian
  • Honorable Latasha Wade
  • Honorable Willie D. Watson
  • Honorable Rod Wilson
  • Chartering Advisor: Honorable Sophea So

The Spring 2019 Induction Ceremony

On Thursday April 22, 2019, the Chi Alpha Epsilon National Honor Society, Epsilon Rho Chapter and the Arthur O. Eve Opportunity Program at SUNY Brockport inducted 19 new members. The inductees also participated in a private induction ceremony earlier that day. With over 30 guests in attendance, Honorable Gary Owens, Director of EOP welcomed the crowd with words of encouragement. Later in the program, Honorable Gary Owens and XAE Co-Advisor Lisa Jones assisted Dr. Eileen Daniel with the pinning ceremony.

The pin not only represents EOP student’s hard work, dedication, and drive for academic success but also has meaning behind each component of the emblem. The Ivy stands for growth, the book for knowledge, the quill for creativity, Chi for center, Alpha for academics, epsilon for excellence, blue for philosophy and white for arts. Each inductee asked an individual to pin them who has helped them to continue up their ladder of success.

If you have any questions, feel free to contact the EOP office at 585-395-2547 or


EOP and the Epsilon Rho Chapter of XAE National Honor Society would like to thank the EOP staff, especially XAE Co-Advisor Da’Neille Kruger and Lisa Jones for their assistance in making this event a success. Special thanks to President Heidi MacPherson, Dr. Kathryn Wilson and BASC for your continued support.

Spring 2019 Inductees:

  • Rukia Abdi
  • Amanda Akyuz
  • John Benicasco
  • Alexes Bernier
  • Tiekela Coulton
  • Michelle Davis
  • Mame Diop
  • Najeeda Forrester
  • Renee Myrie
  • Mieka Sanders-Henry
  • Michelle Thomas
  • Honesty Washington