Scholarships Offered

The Department of Anthropology presently offers the Douglas A. Feldman LGBT Paper Award, Edwin S. Hall Jr. Scholarship, Marjorie Helen Stewart Award, and our Departmental Scholars award.

Eligible students should apply online at

Douglas A. Feldman LGBTQ Paper Award

This fund was established by Dr. Douglas A. Feldman to support the Diversity mission at SUNY Brockport. The award is given for the best academic research paper on a topic related to the cultural aspects of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and/or transgender experiences. The paper will be selected based on relevance, importance of the topic, excellence in research methods and/or theory, and original writing. The award winner and the runner-up are usually announced at the annual Diversity Conference where they are presented with their $1,000 and $100 awards, respectively.

Douglas A. Feldman is Professor Emeritus at the Department of Anthropology at SUNY Brockport, SUNY. He received his PhD in Anthropology from the State University of New York at Stony Brook. His research on AIDS, global policy issues, health policy analysis, medical anthropology, applied anthropology, human sexuality, social epidemiology, health demography, health education, qualitative research methods, HIV prevention and interventions, and evaluation of health services was conducted in the United States, sub-Saharan Africa, Zambia and Hungary. He is the author and/or editor of many publications, including Ethnicity and Health Care Delivery: Sexually Transmitted Diseases (2009), AIDS, Culture, and Gay Men (2010), AIDS, Culture, and Africa (2008), Global AIDS Policy (1994), and Culture and AIDS (1990). At Brockport he taught courses on the Anthropology of Sex, Culture and AIDS, Anthropological Perspectives on Global Issues, Applied Anthropology, and Medical Anthropology. Dr. Feldman is currently working as a consulting medical anthropologist.

The Edwin S. Hall Jr. Scholarship

An educational expense grant of $1000, used for educational expenses at SUNY Brockport and awarded to an Anthropology major who meets the following criteria: 3.4 or higher overall GPA, junior standing, minimum of 15 credit hours in Anthropology earned at Brockport, demonstrated academic excellence and potential for the application of Anthropological knowledge to chosen career.

Edwin S. Hall Jr. received his PhD in Anthropology from Yale University. His 30+ seasons of archaeological and ethnohistorical fieldwork were conducted in northern and northwestern Alaska where he also served as a consulting archaeologist for the US Geological Survey and The North Slope Borough. He is the author of numerous articles and books, among them The Eskimo Storyteller: Folktales from Noatak Alaska (1975) and Northwest Coast Indian Graphics: An Introduction to Silkscreen Prints (1981). At Brockport he taught Introduction to Archaeology, North American Archaeology, Culture Change, The American Indian, and Native American Art. Dr. Hall chaired the Department from 1974 to 1986. An avid collector of contemporary Native American art, he retired from the University in 1992.

The Marjorie Helen Stewart Award

A $300 cash award to a rising Anthropology major in their sophomore year, who demonstrates academic excellence and shows promise for developing into anAnthropologist.

Marjorie Stewart held a DPhil in anthropology from Oxford University and conducted fieldwork in Nigeria where she investigated the pre-colonial history and socio-political organization of the Borgu Kingdom. Her publications include Borgu and Its Kingdoms: A Reconstruction of a West Sudanese Polity (1993).

At SUNY Brockport, Stewart taught courses on Africa, China, Anthropological Theory, Magic and Witchcraft, Gender, and Language and Culture. She served as chair of the department from 1994-1999. When Stewart passed away in 1999, she remembered the Department of Anthropology in her will, and in turn, the department created this award in her name to honor an outstanding sophomore majoring in anthropology.

Recent Award Winners